I’ve been going a bit pumpkin crazy these days. Making spiced pumpkin lattes in my crockpot, pumpkin playdough and my current pumpkin obsession: these chocolate-chip pumpkin muffins I’ve been eating all week. I was inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie’s single serving chocolate-chip pumpkin muffin (I enjoyed many of these last fall). But since then I’ve gone gluten-free and wanted to find a gluten-free version that could be just as good. I really like the addition of sorghum flour in this recipe as it adds a nice lightness.

Ingredients 

2/3 cup sorghum flour

1  1/3 cup brown rice flour

2  1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup plus 2 T canned pumpkin

2  1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup plus 2 T organic sugar (such as sucrant or rapadura)

1 cup almond milk

1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions: Preheat over to 330, combine all ingredients and mix well. Spoon into muffin/cupcake baking cups (or just spray muffin pan with pam). Bake for 20 minutes.

*Sometimes when cooking with sorghum, I find it can be quite dry. If it’s still dry add in more almond milk 1 Tablespoon at a time until you’ve reached your desired consistency.

