In the past two weeks I’ve read The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin and The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule. Both books influenced me differently but toward the same direction. Leading me to think about what it might look like to live with greater intentionality, creativity, and happiness. Both of these books talked about gratitude. Inspired by Rubin’s book I’ve started a Resolution Chart, on the top of that list is “practice gratitude.” The practice of writing thank you notes is a practice my parents instilled in me when I was young, but it’s been a hit or miss practice in my adult life. I thought if I had a well stocked supply of thank you cards it might just help me in my endeavors. Since the hand print is the best signature for the two-year old, I thought I’d whip up a batch of these to have on hand.

Supplies

  • Plain card stock
  • Decorative card stock
  • Scissors
  • Mod podge
  • Sewing machine (optional)

Step One: Gather card stock and cut in half

Step Two (optional): Sew a decorative seam around the edges of your card. (I recently purchased a new sewing machine, making the switch to an electronic machine, and found this a fun way to explore new stitches.)

Step Three: Trace your child’s hand print on a piece of scrap paper and cut out. This will be your template. Trace it onto your decorative card stock and cut out.

Step Four: Fold your cards in half. To adhere the hand to the card, mod podge them to the front of your card and then brush mod podge once again over the hand print.

Step Five: Practice gratitude!

