In the last month, my family and I have finally made the leap into the world of gluten-free living. We feel great (well barring the fact that we’ve been sick the last couple weeks), but generally we have more energy, sleep better, and have betteer concentration. One of the drawbacks has been, however, that my husband can’t stop losing weight. I know, doesn’t sound like a very bad problem to have. Since I’m the one that got us into this mess, I decided I should try and find a way to make some calorie/energy dense snacks that would be easy to carry and easy to eat (something that tastes decent considering we don’t eat gluten or refined sugar). Inspired by these butter pecan granola chips, I decided to make some maple pecan granola bars. I could find recipes for bars and recipes for maple-pecan granola but none for maple pecan granola bars! And so I  fused a few recipes together, and this is what I came up with.

Ingredients:

1 2/3 cups quick oats (gluten-free)

2/3 cup oat flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

2 cups pecans (dry roasted)

1 cup raisins

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup maple syrup

3 Tablespoons coconut oil (melted)

Directions: First, start by dry roasting your pecans on a skillet. While those are roasting (and while you’re stirring them periodically), combine the dry ingredients and mix. In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, vanilla, and coconut oil, then add to the dry ingredients. Finally, take your now roasted pecans and either throw them in a food processor for a few minutes or just chop them (if you prefer chunky) with a knife, and add pecans and raisins to the mixture.



Preheat your oven to 350 and, line a 8×8 with parchment paper (for thicker granola bars. For thinner, crispier granola you could try something bigger.) Press your batter firmly into your prepared pan. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 20 minutes then cut with a serrated knife once completely cool. Store in an air-tight container.

